A toddler's bedroom seen from about knee height, with a small white bear-shaped night light switched off on top of a chest of drawers, a low wooden bed with a soft toy, and wooden blocks on the rug.

Toddler night light: what to look for, and what to skip

If you are choosing a night light for a toddler, plan for small hands that may grab, carry, drop, mouth and tap it. That leaves one choice, whether the light stays out of reach or gets carried about, and six short checks for any light, whoever sells it.

This page is our reading of UK safety advice, the government’s product safety records and what six of our listings say. We do not test lights, so nothing here says any light is safe.

A toddler’s bedroom seen from about knee height, with a small white bear-shaped night light switched off on top of a chest of drawers, a low wooden bed with a soft toy, and wooden blocks on the rug.

What a toddler does with a light

The NHS baby and toddler safety page, last reviewed 19 February 2026, is general home advice, not about night lights. It says babies and toddlers “will grab at brightly coloured objects” (its example is a mug) and young children may put small objects in their mouths. It also says to keep small silver button batteries away from small children and not to leave “any type of rope or cord lying around”. Applying that, and Electrical Safety First’s advice below, to a night light is our reading.

A Mother & Baby writer who tried a soft silicone light with a two-year-old says the child “hugs it, throws it, drops it (as toddlers do)”. That is one child in one review, a picture rather than a rule.

An adult’s hand and a toddler’s hand resting on a woven rug, the toddler’s hand on the soft rounded top of a small white silicone night light.

Out of reach, or carried?

If the light stays out of reach, a toddler cannot switch it on or carry it off, though any cable still needs care: Electrical Safety First’s advice for new parents is to keep appliance cables out of children’s reach. The sources here give no height or distance, so we give none.

If a toddler can carry the light, it can end up in the bed, and our listings say to place the light outside the cot or bed. The current listing describes LumaAxo with simple tap control and cordless use after charging: in our reading, a toddler who can reach it can switch it on and move it. The listing for CapiZen says both. Its FAQ answers “Can my child carry it?” with yes (younger children supervised), while its age and safety guidance says to place it outside the cot or bed.

The LumaAxo axolotl night light glowing warm on a plain surface
LumaAxo, one of our tap-control silicone night lights.
The CapiZen capybara night light on a nursery shelf, out of a toddler’s reach
CapiZen on a shelf: the “stays put” option.
Floor plan of a toddler’s bedroom. A night light that stays put sits on a chest of drawers out of reach; a carried light can end up in the toddler bed; a wall socket has no plug in it; a landing shelf is the place to charge, on a hard surface in daylight. Our reading, not a measurement.

If a light will travel, weigh the battery and detachable-parts checks (3 and 4) most. If it will stay put, weigh the buying and charging checks (1 and 2). Checks 5 and 6 apply either way.

Decision route through the six checks. If the toddler can reach or carry the light, start with the battery compartment and parts that can detach; if it stays put, start with where it comes from and charging; then either way check for a way to switch itself off and one steady setting. Our reading, not a safety rating.

Six checks on any night light

  1. Where it comes from. Electrical Safety First’s night-lights page, written for plug-in and battery lights, says to buy from a reputable retailer rather than a third-party seller online, because such a product may not have passed all the necessary safety checks. Our reading: the same goes for the plug-in adapter you use with a USB light.
  2. Charging. Electrical Safety First’s bedroom advice, whose examples are phones and tablets, is to charge on a hard surface such as a table or desk, not on the bed or under a pillow, and to avoid unattended or overnight charging where possible. Its new-parents page adds: do not leave an unconnected charging cable plugged in and switched on, as young children may mouth the end (its example is a phone charger). Our guide to lights for a child’s bedroom has the fuller checklist for cords, chargers and batteries.
  3. A battery compartment that needs a tool. If the light takes button batteries, Great Ormond Street Hospital (last reviewed 1 October 2018) lists LED lights among things that use them and says even dead ones can still be dangerous. The gov.uk notice says to check that the compartment is secure. Two records below concern a compartment that opened without a tool or was not secured. If a child may have swallowed a battery, go to A&E or call 999.
  4. Parts that can detach. Small objects can choke a young child, and one record below is a light whose eye came off in a test. Look at eyes, ears and any lift-off top; our reading is to prefer a light where nothing comes away.
  5. A way to switch itself off. A timer sets how long the light stays on. The current listing describes DinoDream with a 15-minute auto-off timer; the tables below show which of the six list one.
  6. One steady setting you can find. Our reading: a light that holds one level is simpler than a colour show (see “What to skip”).
A child touching the control on the DinoDream dinosaur night light
DinoDream lists a 15-minute auto-off timer.
A small white night light charging on a wooden kitchen worktop, its cable running to a plain adapter in a UK wall socket
The underside of a small toy on a wooden table showing a battery compartment held shut by a screw, with a screwdriver beside it.

What the UK product safety records show

The Office for Product Safety and Standards publishes product safety alerts, reports and recalls on gov.uk. We searched those published from 4 March 2022 (the earliest) to 16 September 2026 for “night light” or “nightlight” in the title and found 11, listed by record number, type and month published. They are records, not a rate: a light with a different title is missing, and nothing here says how common any group is. Search the finder for a number to open its record.

  • Plug-in lights, 6: PSD 2301-0107 (recall, February 2023), 2308-0006 (report, August 2023), 2308-0145 (report, October 2023), 2310-0283 (report, April 2024), 2504-0207 (recall, May 2025), 2509-0278 (report, October 2025). Each states a risk of electric shock or fire.
  • Battery, 3: PSD 2412-0129 (report, December 2024), button batteries accessible without a tool; 2604-0006 (recall, May 2026), a compartment that could overheat during use; 2603-0243 (report, May 2026), a button battery compartment “not adequately secured and is easily accessible”.
  • USB-C cable head, 1: PSD 2310-0244 (recall, October 2023), a possible weak point at the bend in the cable head.
  • Small parts, 1: PSD 2108-0223 (recall, March 2022), a plush toy with a built-in light whose “right eye detached” in a tension test.

Six of the 11 titles name an online marketplace (titles only, not where lights were sold); check 1 is Electrical Safety First’s advice on where to buy.

Dot timeline of 11 gov.uk product safety records with night light in the title, by month published, March 2022 to May 2026. Plug-in lights, six records: PSD 2301-0107, 2308-0006, 2308-0145, 2310-0283, 2504-0207 and 2509-0278. Battery, three: 2412-0129, 2604-0006 and 2603-0243. USB-C cable head, one: 2310-0244. Small parts, one: 2108-0223. Records, not a rate.

What our listings say

As of 20 September 2026, this is what the current listings for six of our lights describe. Cells quote or shorten the listing, and “not stated” means it does not say. This is not a test, ranking or verdict.

Controls, levels and timers

Light Control Light levels Timer
LumaAxo Simple tap control Two brightness levels; warm LED glow not stated
DinoDream Touch control Warm LED glow; adjustable brightness 15-minute auto-off
CapiZen Light press on the soft body Two light settings Delayed light shut-off
Elephia Touch 30%, 60%, 100%; warm LED 30 minutes
Anseria Simple tap operation 3 adjustable levels; warm LED not stated
NestiFox not stated Soft LED light not stated

Body, weight and runtime

Light Body Weight Runtime
LumaAxo Soft-touch silicone not stated not stated
DinoDream Soft-touch silicone not stated not stated
CapiZen Soft silicone; ABS and PC (plastics) inside Approx. 200 g Up to approx. 16h bright, 56h low
Elephia Soft silicone not stated Approx. 5h high, up to 10h low
Anseria Soft silicone Approx. 50 g Up to 10 hours
NestiFox Silicone; ABS and PC Approx. 154.3 g Approx. 16h higher, up to 56h lowest

All six describe cordless use after charging. Each describes the light as “a bedside light, not a toy” and says an adult should supervise setup and use with young children. None of the six gives a lumen or lux figure; our guide to lux vs lumens explains why a lumen figure needs a distance.

The contents lists on all six name a USB cable and no wall adapter, and Elephia and NestiFox refer to “a suitable 5V” power source, so the plug is yours to choose (check 1).

Can it stay on all night?

Electrical Safety First’s night-lights page does not mention leaving a light on overnight. It says night lights are generally safe to use if you follow the manufacturer’s instructions and take a few sensible precautions, and its “always” list includes switching off and unplugging from the socket when not in use (plug-in lights). Overnight charging is a separate matter (check 2). Whether a child needs a light at all is a separate question, and our guide to the best colour night light for baby sleep covers our stance on darkness.

What to skip

Our reading, for a toddler’s room:

  • A colour-cycling light. One that changes by itself invites play. Our guide to a child scared of the dark covers timers and says we would skip these.
  • A projector. An optional extra rather than a night light; baby projector vs night light compares the two.

A landing is a different job: our guide to auto-on night lights covers motion against steady.

Where that leaves you

Decide whether the light will be out of reach or carried, run the six checks, and read every listing, ours included, for what it does not say. Our children’s collection holds the night lights, sleep trainers and clocks we sell for children, and our animal night lights page shows every animal shape.

A toddler’s bedroom in late-afternoon sun with a low wooden bed, wooden blocks on the rug and a small night light on a high shelf

References

Listing statements are from our live product pages as read on 20 September 2026. Sources and records were read on the same date.

  1. Electrical Safety First, Night lights, no date on the page. Supports: buying from a reputable retailer rather than a third-party seller online because such a product may not have passed all the necessary safety checks; night lights being generally safe to use when the manufacturer’s instructions and sensible precautions are followed; and “Switch off and unplug from the socket when not in use” in its “always” list. Scope: plug-in and battery night lights; not specific to toddlers. The page does not mention leaving a light on overnight.
  2. Electrical Safety First, Advice for new parents, no date on the page. Supports: keeping appliance cables out of children’s reach (it stresses hot items such as kettles) and not leaving an unconnected charging cable plugged in and switched on (its example is a phone charger). Its examples are not night lights.
  3. Electrical Safety First, Electrical safety advice for the bedroom, no date on the page. Supports: charging on a hard surface, not the bed or under a pillow, and avoiding unattended or overnight charging where possible. Its examples are phones and tablets.
  4. NHS, Baby and toddler safety, last reviewed 19 February 2026. Supports: babies and toddlers grabbing at brightly coloured objects (its example is a mug); young children putting small objects in their mouths; small silver button batteries kept well away from small children; and not leaving any type of rope or cord lying around. General home safety, not night lights.
  5. Office for Product Safety and Standards, gov.uk, New button battery safety campaign, published 26 January 2021. Supports: checking that a button battery compartment is secure, and A&E or 999 if a battery may have been swallowed.
  6. Great Ormond Street Hospital, Button batteries: using them safely, last reviewed 1 October 2018 (its next review date, 1 October 2019, has passed). Supports: LED lights on its list of home items that use button batteries, and dead batteries still being dangerous.
  7. Office for Product Safety and Standards, gov.uk, Product safety alerts, reports and recalls. Records published from 4 March 2022 (the earliest on the finder) to 16 September 2026; the finder held 3,723 when read. The 11 with “night light” or “nightlight” in the title were published between 26 March 2022 and 28 May 2026 and are cited by record number, type and gov.uk publication date: PSD 2108-0223, recall, 26 March 2022 (its own alert date is 17 September 2021); PSD 2301-0107, recall, 1 February 2023; PSD 2308-0006, report, 18 August 2023; PSD 2308-0145, report, 5 October 2023; PSD 2310-0244, recall, 26 October 2023; PSD 2310-0283, report, 12 April 2024; PSD 2412-0129, report, 23 December 2024; PSD 2504-0207, recall, 21 May 2025; PSD 2509-0278, report, 3 October 2025; PSD 2604-0006, recall, 1 May 2026; PSD 2603-0243, report, 28 May 2026. Search the finder for a record number to find it. Supports: the counts by hazard group (6 plug-in, 3 battery, 1 USB-C cable head, 1 small parts); the count of titles naming an online marketplace (6 of 11: PSD 2308-0006, 2308-0145, 2310-0283, 2412-0129, 2504-0207 and 2603-0243); and the two quoted lines (“right eye detached” in PSD 2108-0223 and “not adequately secured and is easily accessible” in PSD 2603-0243). The sample is title-defined; these are published enforcement records, not a count of unsafe products or incidents, and give no rate.
  8. Mother & Baby, The best night lights for babies, toddlers and children, updated 11 September 2026. Supports: one writer’s remark about a two-year-old and a soft silicone light. It is one account, not evidence of what toddlers generally do.
Back to blog